DSBA names DeKeyser Rookie of the Year

Michigan native ranked second on team in ice time during 2013-14 season

Wednesday, 06.11.2014 / 10:00 AM
Kyle Kujawa  - Detroit Red Wings Public Relations Coordinator

DETROIT – Red Wings defenseman Danny DeKeyser has been named the 2013-14 Red Wings Rookie of the Year by the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association. DeKeyser, 24, skated in 65 games for Detroit during the 2013-14 season, registering 23 points (4-19-23), a plus-10 rating and 30 penalty minutes, while averaging 21:38 of ice time, second on the team to only Niklas Kronwall.

The Macomb, Mich., native signed with the Red Wings as an undrafted free agent on March 30, 2013, and went on to appear in 11 regular-season and two postseason games with the Red Wings in 2012-13. This season, he ranked among the NHL’s top rookie blueliners in points (8th), plus-minus (T4th) and ice time (2nd). He also placed third among all rookies, and second on Detroit overall, with 116 blocked shots.

“We had a lot of rookies in the lineup on a regular basis this season, so it’s a great honor to be recognized as Rookie of the Year by the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association,” said DeKeyser. “Being able to play here in Detroit in front of my friends and family made this season very special, and it’s a privilege to be acknowledged by the DSBA with so many other worthy candidates who were able to help the team this year.”

Prior to turning professional, DeKeyser spent three seasons (2010-13) with the CCHA’s Western Michigan Broncos, logging 49 points (12-37-49) in 118 games. The 6-foot-3, 190-lb., blueliner was named to the NCAA Second All-American Team and CCHA First All-Star Team in 2013 after capturing the CCHA’s Best Defensive Defenseman for the second consecutive season. He was also honored as a freshman in 2011 on the CCHA All-Rookie Team and as a sophomore in 2012 on the CCHA Second All-Star Team after helping the Broncos to a conference championship. Following the conclusion of Detroit’s postseason run in 2013, he joined the AHL’s Grand Rapids Griffins during the 2013 Calder Cup Playoffs and helped the team capture their first-ever championship, logging one assist in six contests. He also represented his country for the first time this season at the 2014 IIHF World Championships in Minsk, Belarus, picking up two assists in eight games.

DeKeyser will be honored by the DSBA prior to a Red Wings home game during the 2014-15 season. The DSBA Red Wings Rookie of the Year Award dates back to the 1948-49 NHL season. Previous recipients of the award include current Red Wings Henrik Zetterberg, Pavel Datsyuk, Johan Franzen, Niklas Kronwall, Jimmy Howard, Jonathan Ericsson, Jakub Kindl and Gustav Nyquist.

Previous DSBA Red Wings Rookie of the Year Award Winners

2012-13 - Gustav Nyquist

2011-12 - Cory Emmerton

2010-11 - Jakub Kindl

2009-10 - Jimmy Howard

2008-09 - Jonathan Ericsson

2007-08 - Derek Meech

2006-07 - Jiri Hudler

2005-06 - Johan Franzen

2004-05 - None awarded

2003-04 - Niklas Kronwall

2002-03 - Henrik Zetterberg

2001-02 - Pavel Datsyuk

2000-01 - None awarded

1999-00 - Jiri Fischer

1982-98 - None awarded

1980-81 - John Barrett

1979-80 - Mike Foligno

1978-79 - Willie Huber

1977-78 - Dale McCourt

1976-77 - Jim Nahrgang

1975-76 - Michel Bergeron

1974-75 - Bill Lochead

1973-74 - Bill Hogaboam

1972-73 - Henry Boucha

1971-72 - Marcel Dionne

1970-71 - Tom Webster

1969-70 - Al Karlander

1968-69 - Paul Popiel

1967-68 - Gary Jarrett/Roy Edwards

1966-67 - None awarded

1965-66 - Bert Marshall

1964-65 - Roger Crozier

1963-64 - Pit Martin

1962-63 - Doug Barkley

1961-62 - Bruce MacGregor

1960-61 - Hank Bassen

1959-60 - Murray Oliver

1958-59 - Len Lunde

1957-58 - Don Poile

1956-57 - Billy Dea

1955-56 - Glenn Hall

1954-55 - None awarded

1953-54 - Bill Dineen

1952-53 - Marcel Bonin

1951-52 - Glen Skov

1950-51 - Terry Sawchuk

1949-50 - Steve Black

1948-49 - Max McNab

Back to top ↑