Detroit Red Wings presented by AT&T
2015-16 Ticket Plans Available Follow @DetroitRedWings on Twitter! Follow the Red Wings on Facebook! Follow @DetroitRedWings on Instagram! Follow the Red Wings of YouTube! Follow DetroitRedWings on Periscope! Follow the Red Wings on Vine! Follow the Red Wings on Google +! Follow OfficialDRW on Snapchat! Follow the Red Wings on Pinterest! Follow the Red Wings on Tumblr! Get Red Wings Email Updates Get Red Wings Text Updates Get the Detroit Red Wings Official Mobile App

  • RSS

Yzerman heads to Michigan Sports Hall

Friday, 06.15.2007 / 2:51 PM ET / News
Associated Press
Share with your Friends

Yzerman heads to Michigan Sports Hall
Yzerman played 22 seasons in a Red Wings' sweater and was a driving force in the franchise's three Stanley Cup championships.
DETROIT -- Former Red Wings captain Steve Yzerman and Heisman Trophy winner Desmond Howard were among the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame's 2007 class of inductees announced Tuesday.

Other inductees included Carolina Hurricanes owner Peter Karmanos Jr., WJR-AM play-by-play announcer Frank Beckmann, Olympic gold medalist swimmer Clark Scholes and Red Wings great Norm Ullman.

Ullman's NHL career spanned 20 seasons, including the first 13 in Detroit. Seven times, Ullman finished among the NHL's top 10 scorers, including a second-place finish in 1964-65, when he registered a career-high 83 points. Chicago center Stan Mikita won the scoring title, but Ullman was named pivot on the First All-Star Team, one of two times he earned NHL All-Star recognition.

In 13 seasons, Ullman compiled 758 points with the Red Wings.
Ullman's 758-points (324 goals, 434 assists) is sixth all-time in Red Wings' history.

In 1968, Ullman was part of a seven-player trade with Toronto that brought Frank Mahovlich and Garry Unger to Detroit.

The inductions of Yzerman and Ullman will bring the number of Red Wings enshrined in the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame to 18. Also in the hall are (in order of induction): Jack Adams (1955), Gordie Howe (1957), Ted Lindsay (1966), Sid Abel (1967), Ebbie Goodfellow (1968), Terry Sawchuk (1974), James Norris (1976), Alex Delvecchio (1977), Bill Gadsby (1986), Budd Lynch (1994), Red Berenson (1996), Bruce Martyn (1996), Red Kelly (1998), Scotty Bowman (1999), Michael Ilitch (2004), Jimmy Devellano (2006).

Also among the class were former Detroit Pistons player and 1974 NBA coach of the year Ray Scott, Olympic gold medalist and kayaker Greg Barton, University of Michigan great and NBA All-Star Glen Rice, Detroit Stars Negro League player Turkey Stearns and Detroit basketball legend Sammy Washington.

The date for the induction dinner has not yet been determined, but it is slated for sometime in February 2008.


H. Zetterberg 77 17 49 -6 66
P. Datsyuk 63 26 39 12 65
T. Tatar 82 29 27 6 56
G. Nyquist 82 27 27 -11 54
J. Abdelkader 71 23 21 3 44
N. Kronwall 80 9 35 -4 44
R. Sheahan 79 13 23 -3 36
D. Helm 75 15 18 7 33
D. DeKeyser 80 2 29 11 31
S. Weiss 52 9 16 -2 25
J. Howard 23 13 11 .910 2.44
P. Mrazek 16 9 2 .918 2.38 is the official Web site of the Detroit Red Wings. Detroit Red Wings and are trademarks of the Detroit Red Wings. NHL, the NHL Shield and the word mark NHL Winter Classic are registered trademarks and Original Six is a trademark of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 Detroit Red Wings and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.
© NHL 2015. All Rights Reserved.

Advertise/SponsorshipsOlympia Entertainment | Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Employment | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Site Map