Detroit Red Wings presented by AT&T
2015-16 Ticket Plans Available Follow @DetroitRedWings on Twitter! Follow the Red Wings on Facebook! Follow @DetroitRedWings on Instagram! Follow the Red Wings of YouTube! Follow DetroitRedWings on Periscope! Follow the Red Wings on Vine! Follow the Red Wings on Google +! Follow OfficialDRW on Snapchat! Follow the Red Wings on Pinterest! Follow the Red Wings on Tumblr! Get Red Wings Email Updates Get Red Wings Text Updates Get the Detroit Red Wings Official Mobile App

Adams Award finalists announced

Babcock could be the fifth Red Wings coach to receive honor

Thursday, 05.1.2008 / 11:14 AM ET / News
Share with your Friends

Adams Award finalists announced
Mike Babcock of the Detroit Red Wings, Bruce Boudreau of the Washington Capitals and Guy Carbonneau of the Montreal Canadiens are the three finalists for the Jack Adams Award, presented to the coach who has "contributed the most to his team\'s success," the National Hockey League announced Wednesday.

Red Wings coach Mike Babcock is in the running for the Jack Adams Award, given annually since 1974, to the coach of the year.

Babcock is joined by two other nominees: Washington's Bruce Boudreau and Montreal's Guy Carbonneau.

If he wins the award, Babcock will become the fifth Red Wings coach so honored, joining Bobby Kromm (1977-78), Jacques Demmers (1986-87, 1987-88) and Scotty Bowman (1995-96).

Members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association submitted ballots for the Jack Adams Award at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters named as finalists. The winner will be announced on June 12 during the NHL Awards Television Special, which will be broadcast live throughout Canada on CBC and the United States on VERSUS from the historic Elgin Theatre in Toronto.

The award was first presented by the NHL Broadcasters' Association in 1974 in honor of the late Jack Adams, longtime coach and general manager of the Detroit Red Wings.

Mike Babcock, Detroit Red Wings


Babcock posted his third consecutive 50-win season behind the Detroit bench as the Red Wings, leading the NHL with a 54-21-7 and 115 points and capturing the Presidents’ Trophy as the NHL’s top regular-season team. The Red Wings set an NHL record for most first-half victories, posting a 30-8-3 mark through 41 games, and went on to surpass the 100-point mark for the eighth consecutive season — equaling Montreal's record streak from 1974-75 through 1981-82.

Detroit also won its seventh consecutive division title and qualified for the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the 17th consecutive season, the longest active streak among the four major pro team sports.

Bruce Boudreau, Washington Capitals


Boudreau brought more than 1,000 games of minor-league coaching experience to his first NHL assignment behind the bench and led the Capitals to one of the most dramatic turnarounds in League history. He replaced Glen Hanlon on Nov. 22 with the Capitals last in the Eastern Conference at 6-14-1, Boudreau led his club to a 37-17-7 mark the rest of the way -- capped by seven consecutive victories to close the season -- and captured the Southeast Division title in the season's final game.

Boudreau became the fastest coach to 20 victories (34 games) and 30 victories (53 games) in franchise history.

Guy Carbonneau, Montreal Canadiens


In his second NHL season behind the bench, Carbonneau guided the Canadiens to a 47-25-10 record for 104 points, their first 45-win and 100-point season in 15 years, first division title in 17 years and first Eastern Conference title in 19 years. Their 25-12-4 road record was the Canadiens’ best in 29 years.

Led by Alex Kovalev's 84-point season -- an increase of 37 over 2006-07 -- the Canadiens were the NHL's highest-scoring club in 2007-08 with 262 goals and boasted the League's top-ranked power-play (90 for 372, 24.2%). Montreal went 25-9 following a loss and did not lose more than three consecutive games all season.



H. Zetterberg 77 17 49 -6 66
P. Datsyuk 63 26 39 12 65
T. Tatar 82 29 27 6 56
G. Nyquist 82 27 27 -11 54
J. Abdelkader 71 23 21 3 44
N. Kronwall 80 9 35 -4 44
R. Sheahan 79 13 23 -3 36
D. Helm 75 15 18 7 33
D. DeKeyser 80 2 29 11 31
S. Weiss 52 9 16 -2 25
J. Howard 23 13 11 .910 2.44
P. Mrazek 16 9 2 .918 2.38 is the official Web site of the Detroit Red Wings. Detroit Red Wings and are trademarks of the Detroit Red Wings. NHL, the NHL Shield and the word mark NHL Winter Classic are registered trademarks and Original Six is a trademark of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 Detroit Red Wings and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.
© NHL 2015. All Rights Reserved.

Advertise/SponsorshipsOlympia Entertainment | Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Employment | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Site Map