Detroit Red Wings presented by AT&T
2015-16 Ticket Plans Available Follow @DetroitRedWings on Twitter! Follow the Red Wings on Facebook! Follow @DetroitRedWings on Instagram! Follow the Red Wings of YouTube! Follow DetroitRedWings on Periscope! Follow the Red Wings on Vine! Follow the Red Wings on Google +! Follow OfficialDRW on Snapchat! Follow the Red Wings on Pinterest! Follow the Red Wings on Tumblr! Get Red Wings Email Updates Get Red Wings Text Updates Get the Detroit Red Wings Official Mobile App

  • RSS

Zetterberg named TSN player of the year

New honor recognizes regular-season, playoff excellence

Friday, 06.13.2008 / 10:57 AM ET / News
Detroit Red Wings
Share with your Friends

Zetterberg named TSN player of the year
Conn Smythe Trophy winner Henrik Zetterberg has added another honor to his 2007-08 collection, as the Red Wings forward today was named the first TSN NHL Player of the Year. The honor goes to the most outstanding player of the full season (regular-season and playoffs) and was voted on by a 30-member panel consisting of current NHL players, coaches and GMs, the NHLPA executive director and the NHL on TSN broadcast team.

TSN will donate $5,000 (Canadian) to Zetterberg’s charity of choice in recognition of this honor.

The inaugural TSN NHL Player of the Year featured a showdown between playoff co-scoring leader and MVP, Zetterberg, and regular-season scoring leader and MVP, Alexander Ovechkin. Zetterberg prevailed with 97 points, including 13 first-place votes, while Ovechkin was runner-up with 81 points and 12 first-place nods. Red Wings captain Nicklas Lidstrom finished third with 38 points, including three first-place votes. (See detailed voting results below.)

While leading the Red Wings to their 11th Stanley Cup championship, Zetterberg tied for the playoff lead in goals scored (13) – among them the Stanley Cup-winning goal – and total points (27) to win the Conn Smythe Trophy.

Ovechkin led the regular-season in goals (65) and total points (112) to become just the second player to win both the Rocket Richard Trophy and the Art Ross Trophy in the same season, leading the Washington Capitals back to the playoffs for the first time since 2002-03. At the NHL Awards Show, Ovechkin captured both the Hart Trophy and Pearson Award.

Six-time Norris Trophy winner Nicklas Lidstrom became the first European-born and trained captain to win the Stanley Cup. Lidstrom led all defensemen in regular-season assists (60), points (70) and plus/minus rating (+40).

While the NHL’s Hart Trophy and Conn Smythe Trophy honor the league’s most valuable player for the regular-season and playoffs, respectively, the TSN NHL Player of the Year recognizes the most outstanding player based on combined performance in the regular-season and playoffs.

Voters include NHL general managers Brian Burke, Cliff Fletcher, Kevin Lowe and Bryan Murray; NHLPA executive director Paul Kelly; NHL coaches Guy Carbonneau, Wayne Gretzky, Tom Renney and Alain Vigneault; and NHL players Martin Biron, Ryan Miller, Martin St. Louis, Joe Sakic, Joe Thornton and Marty Turco. Voters ranked their top three choices; first-place votes were worth five points, second-place votes, three points, and third-place votes, one point. 

Voting Results (5-3-1 point system)
1. Henrik Zetterberg (97 points)
1st: 13
2nd: 9
3rd: 5

2. Alexander Ovechkin (81 points)
1st: 12
2nd: 6
3rd: 3

3. Nicklas Lidstrom (38 points)
1st: 3
2nd: 5
3rd: 8


H. Zetterberg 77 17 49 -6 66
P. Datsyuk 63 26 39 12 65
T. Tatar 82 29 27 6 56
G. Nyquist 82 27 27 -11 54
J. Abdelkader 71 23 21 3 44
N. Kronwall 80 9 35 -4 44
R. Sheahan 79 13 23 -3 36
D. Helm 75 15 18 7 33
D. DeKeyser 80 2 29 11 31
S. Weiss 52 9 16 -2 25
J. Howard 23 13 11 .910 2.44
P. Mrazek 16 9 2 .918 2.38 is the official Web site of the Detroit Red Wings. Detroit Red Wings and are trademarks of the Detroit Red Wings. NHL, the NHL Shield and the word mark NHL Winter Classic are registered trademarks and Original Six is a trademark of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 Detroit Red Wings and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.
© NHL 2015. All Rights Reserved.

Advertise/SponsorshipsOlympia Entertainment | Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Employment | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Site Map