Detroit Red Wings presented by AT&T
2015-16 Ticket Plans Available Follow @DetroitRedWings on Twitter! Follow the Red Wings on Facebook! Follow @DetroitRedWings on Instagram! Follow the Red Wings of YouTube! Follow DetroitRedWings on Periscope! Follow the Red Wings on Vine! Follow the Red Wings on Google +! Follow OfficialDRW on Snapchat! Follow the Red Wings on Pinterest! Follow the Red Wings on Tumblr! Get Red Wings Email Updates Get Red Wings Text Updates Get the Detroit Red Wings Official Mobile App

  • RSS

Lidstrom continues to lead defensemen

Wings' captain has nearly 68,000 vote lead over Calgary's Phaneuf

Thursday, 12.18.2008 / 9:27 AM ET / News
Share with your Friends

Lidstrom continues to lead defensemen
NEW YORK  -- Detroit’s Nicklas Lidstrom and Calgary’s Dion Phaneuf remained the leading vote-getters among defensemen, as they have been virtually since the moment balloting began. However, Chicago’s Brian Campbell closed the gap considerably over the last week and Anaheim’s Scott Niedermayer and Chris Pronger aren’t far behind.

Voting ends at 9 p.m. ET on Jan. 2. Click here to vote.

Chicago’s rekindled love affair with the Blackhawks, already manifested by soaring United Center attendance and insatiable interest in NHL Winter Classic 2009, now is being reflected in the fan balloting for the 2009 NHL All-Star Game.
As of 7 a.m. ET Wednesday, Blackhawks’ winger Patrick Kane had taken over the top spot among Western Conference forwards in the XM NHL® All-Star Fan Balloting presented by 2K Sports that will select the starting lineups for the 2009 NHL All-Star Game in Montreal Jan. 25. In the last week, Kane vaulted four players to take a 26,828-vote lead over the previous pace-setter, Detroit’s Marian Hossa. Anaheim center Ryan Getzlaf also slipped past Calgary’s Jarome Iginla for the third starting nod.
But with 16 days remaining in the voting that will end Jan. 2, Iginla remains very much in the running – as do Detroit’s Pavel Datsyuk and Henrik Zetterberg and Kane’s Chicago teammate, Jonathan Toews.
As of Wednesday morning, Vancouver’s Roberto Luongo still was the masked man to beat among Western Conference goaltenders. But he had a new chief rival as Anaheim’s Jean-Sebastien Giguere had moved past San Jose’s Evgeni Nabokov and Detroit’s Chris Osgood and into second place in the balloting.
The vote totals, as of 7 a.m. ET, in the fan balloting for the Western Conference starters are detailed below.
Through Jan. 2, NHL fans can vote as often as they like in the XM NHL® All-Star Fan Balloting presented by 2K Sports to select the starting lineups for the 2009 NHL All-Star Game in Montreal. Fans around the world can vote online via interactive English and French ballots at Those in the U.S. and Canada also are able to cast their votes via text message using any wireless carrier. Real-time results are available exclusively at
Fans can vote for up to six Eastern Conference players and six Western Conference players -- three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender. Fans are permitted to select as few as one player -- a balloted player or write-in -- per online ballot at or via text message.
To vote using any wireless carrier, fans should text their favorite player’s last name to the shortcode 81812. Fans interested in voting for all of their favorite team’s balloted players can text the team nickname (e.g., RedWings) to 81812. Standard text messaging charges will apply.

XM NHL All-Star Fan Balloting Presented by 2K Sports
Western Conference
(as of 12/17/08, 7 a.m. ET)
Player                         Team              Votes
Patrick Kane               Chicago           341,242
Marian Hossa             Detroit             314,414
Ryan Getzlaf               Anaheim          309,127
Jarome Iginla               Calgary            306,053
Pavel Datsyuk             Detroit              299,121
Henrik Zetterberg        Detroit             291,519

Jonathan Toews         Chicago           276,611
Joe Thornton               San Jose         181,383
Mikko Koivu                 Minnesota        144,102
Patrick Marleau           San Jose         128,938
Rick Nash                   Columbus       94,775
Joe Sakic                    Colorado         88,892
Mike Ribeiro                Dallas              84,970
Shane Doan                Phoenix           71,437
Ales Hemsky               Edmonton       62,456
Marian Gaborik            Minnesota        62,223
Brad Boyes                 St. Louis          61,893
Olli Jokinen                  Phoenix           56,033
Paul Stastny                Colorado         54,651
Mike Modano               Dallas              49,419
Jason Arnott                Nashville          48,271
Dustin Brown              Los Angeles    45,908
*Devin Setoguchi        San Jose         39,048
Daniel Sedin                Vancouver       39,028
Anze Kopitar               Los Angeles    37,930
Henrik Sedin                Vancouver       37,816
Paul Kariya                  St. Louis          36,106
Milan Hejduk                Colorado         34,437
Brenden Morrow         Dallas              31,950
Shawn Horcoff            Edmonton       25,565
Brad Richards             Dallas              22,497
*Patrick Sharp             Chicago           20,196
Keith Tkachuk             St. Louis          20,146
Nicklas Lidstrom         Detroit             437,108
Dion Phaneuf             Calgary            369,171
Brian Campbell           Chicago           284,663
Scott Niedermayer      Anaheim          251,859
Chris Pronger             Anaheim          245,404
Dan Boyle                   San Jose         199,280
Brian Rafalski             Detroit             190,333
Rob Blake                   San Jose         154,205
Sheldon Souray          Edmonton       142,109
Shea Weber                Nashville          107,069
Brent Burns                 Minnesota        77,018
Robyn Regehr             Calgary            39,146
Roberto Luongo          Vancouver       369,386
J.S. Giguere                Anaheim          227,568
Evgeni Nabokov          San Jose         184,017
Chris Osgood             Detroit             159,362
Niklas Backstrom        Minnesota        108,416
Miikka Kiprusoff           Calgary            55,062
Ilya Bryzgalov             Phoenix           54,572
Pascal Leclaire           Columbus       39,538
Marty Turco                 Dallas              38,500
Note: Write-in candidates are denoted by an asterisk (*).


H. Zetterberg 77 17 49 -6 66
P. Datsyuk 63 26 39 12 65
T. Tatar 82 29 27 6 56
G. Nyquist 82 27 27 -11 54
J. Abdelkader 71 23 21 3 44
N. Kronwall 80 9 35 -4 44
R. Sheahan 79 13 23 -3 36
D. Helm 75 15 18 7 33
D. DeKeyser 80 2 29 11 31
S. Weiss 52 9 16 -2 25
J. Howard 23 13 11 .910 2.44
P. Mrazek 16 9 2 .918 2.38 is the official Web site of the Detroit Red Wings. Detroit Red Wings and are trademarks of the Detroit Red Wings. NHL, the NHL Shield and the word mark NHL Winter Classic are registered trademarks and Original Six is a trademark of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 Detroit Red Wings and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.
© NHL 2015. All Rights Reserved.

Advertise/SponsorshipsOlympia Entertainment | Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Employment | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Site Map