Detroit Red Wings presented by AT&T
2015-16 Ticket Plans Available Follow @DetroitRedWings on Twitter! Follow the Red Wings on Facebook! Follow @DetroitRedWings on Instagram! Follow the Red Wings of YouTube! Follow DetroitRedWings on Periscope! Follow the Red Wings on Vine! Follow the Red Wings on Google +! Follow OfficialDRW on Snapchat! Follow the Red Wings on Pinterest! Follow the Red Wings on Tumblr! Get Red Wings Email Updates Get Red Wings Text Updates Get the Detroit Red Wings Official Mobile App

  • RSS

NHL announces All-Star starters

Ducks, Blackhawks monopolize Western Conference's six spots

Saturday, 01.3.2009 / 2:28 PM ET / News
Share with your Friends

NHL announces All-Star starters
NEW YORK -- Blackhawks sophomores Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews were among the three Chicago players elected Western Conference starters for the 2009 NHL All-Star Game to be played in Montreal on January 25.

Kane and Toews finished 1-2 among Western Conference forwards with 917,551 and 809,599, respectively, and will be joined by teammate Brian Campbell (784,476), who led all West defensemen.

Three Anaheim Ducks players were voted to starting positions: J.S. Giguere (617,241) finished first among Western goalies, Ryan Getzlaf (716,569) will join Kane and Toews at forward and Scott Niedermayer (637,316) will line up alongside Campbell on defense.

Four members of the host Montreal Canadiens – defensemen Andrei Markov and Mike Komisarek, forward Alex Kovalev and goaltender Carey Price -- will line up alongside record-setting vote-getter Sidney Crosby and NHL scoring leader Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins for the Eastern Conference.

Crosby, the Pittsburgh captain, received the most votes in the history of NHL All-Star fan balloting (1,713,021). Malkin had the second-highest total ever (1,585,936). Markov finished with 1,443,091 votes, Mike Komisarek with 1,373,628, Kovalev with 1,343,301 and Price with 1,515,885. Price edged Pittsburgh's Marc-Andre Fleury by fewer than 30,000 votes in a tight race that each player led in Friday night's final hours of the XM NHL All-Star Fan Balloting presented by 2K Sports.

While a majority of the record tally of 34 million votes were cast on the Internet at, statistics show tech-savvy NHL fans turned to texting in ever-greater numbers. Over 15 million votes were recorded from nearly 4 million text messages sent by fans using their mobile phones, including 4.3 million votes -- 29 percent of the texting total -- generated during the final five days of balloting with starting berths still up for grabs.

The starting lineups for the 57th NHL All-Star Game were announced today in Montreal by Canadiens legend and hockey hall-of-famer Jean Beliveau.

"In three weeks, the world’s greatest players will come here, to one of the world’s great hockey cities, to help celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Montreal Canadiens at NHL All-Star Weekend," Beliveau said. "I had the pleasure of playing in 13 All-Star Games and I can tell you it was an absolute honor. I look forward to watching the stars of today."

Six of the 12 starters named today -- including five of the six forwards -- are age 23 or younger (Kane and Toews are 20, Crosby and Price are 21, Malkin is 22 and Getzlaf is 23) and seven players will be first-time All-Star starters (Malkin, Komisarek and Price for the East; Kane, Toews, Getzlaf and Giguere for the West).

Western Conference Final Balloting
(As of Jan. 2, 2009)

Patrick Kane Chicago 917,551
Jonathan Toews Chicago 809,599
Ryan Getzlaf Anaheim 716,569
Joe Thornton San Jose 442,364
Marian Hossa Detroit 419,463
Jarome Iginla Calgary 411,862
Pavel Datsyuk Detroit 395,316
Patrick Marleau San Jose 385,538
Henrik Zetterberg Detroit 384,307
Mikko Koivu Minnesota 176,307
Rick Nash Columbus 129,239
Shane Doan Phoenix 109,018
Joe Sakic Colorado 107,762
Mike Ribeiro Dallas 99,490
Brad Boyes St. Louis 89,414
Olli Jokinen Phoenix 85,207
Ales Hemsky Edmonton 82,039
Marian Gaborik Minnesota 78,361
Jason Arnott Nashville 70,483
Dustin Brown Los Angeles 68,302
Paul Stastny Colorado 67,002
Mike Modano Dallas 66,584
Devin Setoguchi * San Jose 62,353
Patrick Sharp * Chicago 54,137
Anze Kopitar Los Angeles 53,412
Daniel Sedin Vancouver 50,866
Teemu Selanne * Anaheim 48,735
Paul Kariya St. Louis 47,916
Henrik Sedin Vancouver 47,665
Milan Hejduk Colorado 43,845
Brenden Morrow Dallas 36,272
Shawn Horcoff Edmonton 33,301
Keith Tkachuk St. Louis 31,033
Brad Richards Dallas 29,283
* write-in candidate

Brian Campbell Chicago 784,476
Scott Niedermayer Anaheim 637,316
Chris Pronger Anaheim 625,810
Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit 570,151
Dion Phaneuf Calgary 483,441
Dan Boyle San Jose 472,018
Rob Blake San Jose 407,124
Brian Rafalski Detroit 246,810
Sheldon Souray Edmonton 180,353
Shea Weber Nashville 139,170
Brent Burns Minnesota 104,034
Robyn Regehr Calgary 56,581

J.S. Giguere Anaheim 617,241
Roberto Luongo Vancouver 464,942
Evgeni Nabokov San Jose 458,758
Chris Osgood Detroit 206,919
Niklas Backstrom Minnesota 136,263
Ilya Bryzgalov Phoenix 84,165
Miikka Kiprusoff Calgary 83,459
Pascal Leclaire Columbus 49,702
Marty Turco Dallas 48,166


H. Zetterberg 77 17 49 -6 66
P. Datsyuk 63 26 39 12 65
T. Tatar 82 29 27 6 56
G. Nyquist 82 27 27 -11 54
J. Abdelkader 71 23 21 3 44
N. Kronwall 80 9 35 -4 44
R. Sheahan 79 13 23 -3 36
D. Helm 75 15 18 7 33
D. DeKeyser 80 2 29 11 31
S. Weiss 52 9 16 -2 25
J. Howard 23 13 11 .910 2.44
P. Mrazek 16 9 2 .918 2.38 is the official Web site of the Detroit Red Wings. Detroit Red Wings and are trademarks of the Detroit Red Wings. NHL, the NHL Shield and the word mark NHL Winter Classic are registered trademarks and Original Six is a trademark of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 Detroit Red Wings and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.
© NHL 2015. All Rights Reserved.

Advertise/SponsorshipsOlympia Entertainment | Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Employment | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Site Map