Detroit Red Wings presented by AT&T
2015-16 Ticket Plans Available Follow @DetroitRedWings on Twitter! Follow the Red Wings on Facebook! Follow @DetroitRedWings on Instagram! Follow the Red Wings of YouTube! Follow DetroitRedWings on Periscope! Follow the Red Wings on Vine! Follow the Red Wings on Google +! Follow OfficialDRW on Snapchat! Follow the Red Wings on Pinterest! Follow the Red Wings on Tumblr! Get Red Wings Email/Text/SMS Updates Get the Detroit Red Wings Official Mobile App

Wings clinch 20th straight playoff spot

Saturday, 04.2.2011 / 6:43 PM ET / Press Release
By Rick Bowness  - Public Relations Coordinator
Share with your Friends

Wings clinch 20th straight playoff spot
DETROIT -- The Red Wings officially clinched their 20th consecutive post-season berth in northern Tennessee earlier today, earning two points in a 4-3 overtime victory over the Nashville Predators. Along with the San Jose Sharks, Detroit is now one of only two NHL teams to have qualified for the playoffs every year since the league negotiated a new collective bargaining agreement with the player’s association in 2005. 
Today’s road win also secures the Red Wings their 11th straight 100-point season, a streak which extends their own NHL record. The previous mark of eight seasons was set by the Montreal Canadiens from 1974-75 through 1981-82.
Detroit’s quest for the 12th Stanley Cup in franchise history will begin later this month versus a to-be-determined opponent. Tickets for the first three home games of the Red Wings’ opening round series are on sale now at the JLA Box Office (313-396-7575) as well as at all Ticketmaster locations, including The Hockeytown Café in Detroit and Hockeytown Authentics in Troy.  Tickets can also be obtained by logging on to, or by calling 800-745-3000.

NHL – Detroit Red Wings, 20 seasons
NBA – San Antonio Spurs, 14 seasons
NFL – Indianapolis Colts, 9 seasons
MLB – Philadelphia Phillies, 4 seasons
29        Boston Bruins, 1968-96
28        Chicago Blackhawks, 1970-97
25        St. Louis Blues, 1980-2004
24        Montreal Canadiens, 1971-94
21        Montreal Canadiens, 1949-69
20        Detroit Red Wings, 1991-present
20        Detroit Red Wings, 1939-58


H. Zetterberg 77 17 49 -6 66
P. Datsyuk 63 26 39 12 65
T. Tatar 82 29 27 6 56
G. Nyquist 82 27 27 -11 54
J. Abdelkader 71 23 21 3 44
N. Kronwall 80 9 35 -4 44
R. Sheahan 79 13 23 -3 36
D. Helm 75 15 18 7 33
D. DeKeyser 80 2 29 11 31
S. Weiss 52 9 16 -2 25
J. Howard 23 13 11 .910 2.44
P. Mrazek 16 9 2 .918 2.38 is the official Web site of the Detroit Red Wings. Detroit Red Wings and are trademarks of the Detroit Red Wings. NHL, the NHL Shield and the word mark NHL Winter Classic are registered trademarks and Original Six is a trademark of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 Detroit Red Wings and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.
© NHL 2015. All Rights Reserved.

Advertise/SponsorshipsOlympia Entertainment | Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Employment | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Site Map