Detroit Red Wings presented by AT&T
Stay Connected to the Detroit Red Wings
Email Updates App Text/SMS Updates Twitter Facebook Red Wings TV RSS Feeds

Griffins represented at World Championship

Friday, 04.29.2011 / 10:35 AM ET / Press Release
By Randy Cleves  - Griffins Senior Director of Public Relations
Share with your Friends

Griffins represented at World Championship
GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. – Eight current and former members of the Grand Rapids Griffins will compete at the 2011 IIHF World Championship, hockey’s premier annual international event which begins today and runs through May 15 in Slovakia.

Sergei Kolosov (right), who recently completed his third season with the Griffins, is back for Belarus after representing his country at both the 2010 Vancouver Olympic Games and last year’s World Championship.

Other alumni slated to participate include Canada’s Jason Spezza (2001-02), the Czech Republic’s Karel Rachunek (1999-00), Norway’s Ole-Kristian Tollefsen (2009-10), Russia’s Konstantin Gorovikov (1999-01), Slovakia’s Pavol Demitra (1996-97), Switzerland’s Julien Vauclair (2001-02), and the United States’ Clay Wilson (2005-06).

Two members of the 2010-11 Griffins, Jan Mursak and Tomas Tatar, are notably absent from the tournament, as they remain with the Red Wings for the Stanley Cup playoffs. Last year, Mursak helped Slovenia earn a rare promotion to the top division World Championship by winning the Division I Group B tournament. Tatar, who is missing an opportunity to play for his country on its home ice, made his World Championship debut with Slovakia in 2010 as a 19-year-old.

Complete rosters, statistics and results for the 2011 IIHF World Championship can be found at The 16-nation tournament consists of a preliminary round (April 29-May 4), qualification round (May 5-9), relegation round (May 5-8), quarterfinals (May 11-12), semifinals (May 13), bronze medal game (May 15) and gold medal game (May 15).

Three Grand Rapids alumni took home medals during last year’s World Championship in Germany, as Rachunek won gold with the Czech Republic and Sweden’s Jonathan Ericsson (2006-09) and Michael Nylander (2009-10) earned bronze. Including gold medals for Russia’s Gorovikov in both 2008 and 2009, a former Griffin has won the World Championship three consecutive years.


H. Zetterberg 77 17 49 -6 66
P. Datsyuk 63 26 39 12 65
T. Tatar 82 29 27 6 56
G. Nyquist 82 27 27 -11 54
J. Abdelkader 71 23 21 3 44
N. Kronwall 80 9 35 -4 44
R. Sheahan 79 13 23 -3 36
D. Helm 75 15 18 7 33
D. DeKeyser 80 2 29 11 31
S. Weiss 52 9 16 -2 25
J. Howard 23 13 11 .910 2.44
P. Mrazek 16 9 2 .918 2.38 is the official Web site of the Detroit Red Wings. Detroit Red Wings and are trademarks of the Detroit Red Wings. NHL, the NHL Shield and the word mark NHL Winter Classic are registered trademarks and Original Six is a trademark of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 Detroit Red Wings and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.
© NHL 2015. All Rights Reserved.

Advertise/SponsorshipsOlympia Entertainment | Code of Conduct | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Employment | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Site Map